2017-2018 Points Aggregate

Men   Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Total
Dennis Neal 19 30 20 69
Andy Chisholm 16 19 18 53
Rick Whitehouse 14 28   42
Brett Franklin 20 20   40
Trent Hamilton 17   19 36
Philip Hanley   29   29
Damien King 18     18
Rod McCall 15     15
Wayne Davey 13     13
Kara Landells 20 20   40
Jenny Merrick   19 20 39

New Years Eve Dune2Dune 2017

The final day of 2017 saw the wind dropping and cloud clearing for perfect race conditions for the 32GI sponsored Dune2Dune . The remaining swell and full high tide made the setting of a swim course difficult  but once again the Wonthaggi Life Saving Club delivered the good . There was still enough wind around to make the return journey to Cape on the bike a bit of an upwind grind. 29 starters lined up for the long course  with double that number starting the short course. Reuben Kuah was the master of the rough water and lead at the end of the swim with Amanda Wilson and Paul Taylor in hot pursuit and a group of 3 less than 20 seconds behind . Matt Sullivan and Dennis Neal were the big movers on the bike leg and it was Dennis getting past Matt in the second lap to lead in to the final transition posting the quickest bike time for the day of 56:13.  A blitzing run time of 36:29 by Amanda Wilson saw her past all the men with an almost full  minute lead at the finish over Paul Taylor who had passed Matt Sullivan ( 2nd) and Dennis Neal (3rd). Sarah Treloar was second in the women’s field with Adele Garwood in 3rd.

In the short course a blistering bike leg in a time of 26:38 saw Brett Franklin lead in to the final change with half a minute lead over Mack Clarkson . Whilst Mack closed the gap somewhat , Brett held on for the win with Naish Chapman in 3rd. In the women’s filed it was Penny Nevill over Zoe Ferguson with Kara Landels in third .  

The Barracudas would like to thank the Wonthaggi Life Saving Club , Coastal Crewzers( transition ) , Wonthaggi Road Runners( marshalling) , race sponsor 32GI and Magnus Michelson , and series sponsor Alex Scott . A special thanks for their effort on the day of Deb Reilly , Jenny Hollins and family and Damien King and family . 

See you all for race 3 , the Twilight Triathlon at Inverloch on 24th February . 

Results are online at the following link to  Tomato Timing ->         Entry  for Twilight Triathlon -> 

Anderson Inlet Triathlon 2017

Results here ->

A total of 46 entries took on the  2017 edition of the Anderson Inlet Triathlon was held in perfect racing conditions, flat seas , a moderate tailwind home on the bike , and cool temperatures on the run  .After the traffic management failed to show the finish was moved the road back into rainbow park where we used to finish( see the pics on left ) . Seems everyone feels we should move it all back there permanently.  The swim was held in flat seas with a raging outgoing current . Some interesting instructions from race director turned the swim into a mini lottery but certainly kept the leaders close together at the start of the bike leg . Martin Bando had a handy lead out of the water but was soon hauled in by the race leaders Matt Sullivan , Brett Franklin and Dennis Neal. Brett Franklin took the lead on the bike and was well ahead when he reached transition . With a sub 19 minute run time he finished more than 2 minutes ahead. Dennis Neal had closed the gap to Matt Sullivan on the bike to only a matter of seconds . Matt was too quick form him, in the run and finished second with Dennis in third.  The ever improving Barracuda Daomien King was in fourth with new member Trent Hamilton in 5 th in his first local triathlon.

In the women’s event , former winner Hilary Myer was too strong for local Barracuda Kara Landells  with Debbi Mahon in third.  Making a spur of the moment decision today to enter a triathlon Team McINtyres were well ahead the other team swhich were made of from the Phillip Island Turtles !

Presentations were held on the deck neighbouring the Beach Box Cafe , with fruit and Pizza provided post race .

We would like to thank our sponsors Alex Scott , Wheelheat , Beach Box Cafe , Voyage Fitness all our volunteers ,Inverloch Surf Lifesaving Club for water safety and first aid , coastal cruizers for transition , run marshals from Wonthaggi Road Runners and  Tomato Timing . Also a sterling effort by club treasurer Jenny Hollins , who at the last minute volunteered for the bike turnaround and Gavin Slavin for all his organisational skills and quick thinking on the day to make sure we had a race.


See you all at Cape Paterson for the Dune2Dune Triathlons on New Years Eve which will give you all a reason to party hard . Entries are open.




Alex Scott Triathlon Series Entries Open

Entries for the Alex Scott Triathlon Series are open from midnight 5th November .(just click read more below  to access entry links from home page )

Inverloch – Anderson Inlet Triathlon Sunday 10th December – > Enter Now

Cape Paterson – Dune2Dune Short Course Sunday 31st December ->Enter Now

Cape Paterson – Dune2Dune Long Course Sunday 31st December ->Enter Now

Inverloch – Twilight Triathlon Saturday 24th February -> Enter Now

Alex Scott Series 2017 -2018

The Alex Scott Triathlon series will take place starting December this year .

First Race Anderson Inlet Triathlon Sunday 10th December  at Inverloch .

Second Race Dune2Dune Triathlons at Cape Paterson Sunday 31st December .

Third Race Twilight Triathlon Saturday 24th February at Inverloch .

You can follow that with the Keeping Kids on Track Fun Run at Kilcunda of 4th March .

Don’t forget the Bass Coast Cycle Challenge on 12th November .

The weekend of 2nd and 3rd December will see several of the clubs athletes in events around the country with the in form Damien King , Gav Slavin and others competing in the Bussleton Ironman . Wayne Davey and Rick Whitehouse will take the East Gippsland multipsort event at Lakes Entrance in their ongoing preparation for next years Coast2Coast event in New Zealand.

Event Information and Entry